Skip Navigation
 

Library & Information Studies Research Guide

The following guide aims at introducing you to the variety of research sources available to you at Queens College Libraries.

Prof. Izabella Taler

Izabella TalerBibliographer for Library and Information Studies

Start with:

  1. Select specific topic within LIS field. Choose a topic that is interesting to you and which will work within your assignment's parameters.
  2. Search the topic in an encyclopedia, handbook or dictionary to gain basic understanding of the subject. A sample of suggested titles available in BRL are listed under Encyclopedias & Dictionaries.

Continue with:

  1. Search for books in the CUNY Catalog and other online library catalogs listed under Find Books. To browse the library collection, use the general call numbers listed under Browse BRL Book Collection.
  2. Search library databases for articles published in journals, magazines or newspapers listed under Find Articles.
  3. Consult Associations or Web Gateways sites for any additional information on your subject.
  4. Remember to evaluate the accuracy of your resources, and think critically about their arguments. When in doubt, check with your instructor.
  5. Consult the guides listed under Citation Style Manuals to correctly cite your sources.

Books

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Check the CUNY Catalog for call number, location and access.

  • Advances in library administration and organization
  • Annual review of information science and technology
  • Educational media and technology yearbook
  • Encyclopedia of information science and technology
  • Encyclopedia of Internet technologies and applications
  • Encyclopedia of library and information sciences
  • Library and book trade almanac (formerly Bowker annual: Library and book trade almanac)
  • SPEC kit
  • The whole library handbook
  • The whole school library handbook

Find Books

The CUNY Catalog
Search for sources available at the Queens College and all CUNY libraries. To request books not available here, use CLICS service.
New York Public Library
Search the NYPL catalog. NYPL has one of the premier research collections in the country.
WorldCat
Search for books and other materials in libraries worldwide. To request needed materials, use Interlibrary Loan service.
Browse Book Collection
Use the Library of Congress classification guide to browse the book collection of the Benjamin Rosenthal Library. Books with call numbers starting with A through L are shelved on Level 4 and call numbers starting with P through Z are shelved on Level 5.

top

Find Articles

Use the following databases (listed in rank order) to search for journal articles on a topic related to library and information science.

Library & Information Science Source
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book essays, research reports, conference papers, theses, dissertations. Includes some full text. Coverage goes back to 1905. Contains citations previously available in:
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: LISTA (EBSCO)
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (Wilson)
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective (Wilson)
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
International database with abstracts to articles from over 440 periodicals in more than 68 countries. Updated bi-weekly.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive source for scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 publications are indexed, and full text is provided for 4500. Most are peer-reviewed. Searchable cited reference sources are provided for selected titles.
Emerald Insight
Collection of journals from Emerald Group Publishing, for business and library science related topics such as knowledge management, management, marketing, and public administration.
ACM Digital Library
Collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings in the field of computer and information science.

For additional information, consult the following databases:

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Subject coverage includes communication & information technology, computer databases and software engineering.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Full-text of reviews of children's books, video & audio recordings, and other children-focused media.
Education Source
Comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks in the field of education, and educational technology.
ERIC
The Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
NoveList Plus
A readers' advisory resource.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science)
Citations from thousands of scholarly journals in the social sciences. Tracks cited references to determine what journal articles cite or reference other journal articles.
Something About the Author
Full-text of biographical information on children's authors and illustrators; includes critiques, bibliographies.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

top

Periodicals

Library and Information Science Periodicals

A list of LIS periodicals, print and electronic, available in BRL. Includes free e-journals.

Find E-Journals

Access QC Library periodicals — magazines, journals, newspapers — in digital format. Best to use when you have exact bibliographic citation; “title” search refers to “title of periodical”.

top

Associations

top

Web Gateways

AcqWeb
A directory of web resources related to acquisitions, and collection development.
Cataloger's Reference Shelf
WWW cataloging resource.
Conservation OnLine (CoOL)
Resources for conservation professionals.
Copyright & Fair Use
Stanford University's website on “copyright issues especially relevant to the education and library community”.
Institute of Museum and Library Services
The primary source for research and grant support of libraries and museums.
lib-web-cats (library web sites and catalogs)
Directory of libraries worldwide.
IPL2
“Information you can trust” from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII).
LOEX
Clearinghouse for library instruction and information literacy information.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
NYSED.gov
Provides information about libraries and library systems in New York State. Includes access to Bibliostat Connect (statistical information).
Tutorialfind
Tutorials on the Web.
WebJunction
Hosted by OCLC, the site functions as an online community for library staff.

top

Last update 8/2014

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS