Skip Navigation
 

World Languages Education Resources

Curriculum Bulletins

New York City
A link to the city Dept. of Education with resources and support for teaching world languages.
New York State
A link to the state standards and resources for bilingual education and foreign language teaching.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
A searchable online collection of curricula from all over the country. Most (1983–2000) are available in microfiche format, but, with the 20th edition (2001), many curricula are available full text online (some earlier materials are being made available full text). If the curriculum is not available full-text, the document number of the fiche is given and can be located in the Education Curriculum Center (ECC) on the first floor of Rosenthal Library (Room 109B). Fiche reader/printers in the adjoining Media Center are available to take notes and photocopy.

top

Databases

ERIC
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, citations to book reviews; abstracts of research studies called documents (books, dissertations, reports, etc.).
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to scholarly journal articles, book essays, conference papers, dissertations; covers research on modern language and literature; by the Modern Language Association (MLA).

top

Journals

Applied Linguistics
Applied Psycholinguistics
Canadian Modern Language Review
Foreign Language Annals
French Review
1927 to 1998 in JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection and JSTOR Language & Literature Collection
Hispania
Italica
Journal of the Imagination in Language Learning
v.1 (1993)-v.5 (2000) P53 .J657 in Queens Book Stacks
Modern Language Journal
Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
1955-1976 PB35 .N65 in Queens Book Stacks

top

Textbooks

Sets of teacher's annotated editions of textbooks are in a collection just beyond the 4th floor Juvenile Collection. They are arranged by curricular topic, assigned a number, and then alphabetical by publisher. Each publisher set is then arranged in grade order and numbered, if there are additional pieces (lab manuals, chapter supplements, assessments, Spanish language supplements, etc.). The most relevant textbook ranges for Languages are:

30 FOREIGN LANGUAGES
31 FRENCH
32 GERMAN
34 LATIN
35 SPANISH
37 ITALIAN
38 RUSSIAN
39 CHINESE

top

Web Resources

MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching
The World Language portal of MERLOT features many free, peer reviewed online resources to enhance language teaching.
UCLA Language Materials Project
Authentic teaching materials for less commonly taught languages

top

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS