Skip Navigation
 

Science Education Resources

Guides to Children's Books

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books (Ref Z1037. L715 2006)
A print bibliography of picture books by subject. No reviews or evaluations of books.
The Best in Children's Nonfiction: Reading, Writing, and Teaching Orbis Pictus Award Books. (Queens Stacks Z1037.A2 B47 2001)
Includes ten years of winners & finalists, many with science themes, for the best children's nonfiction award presented by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Book Links (Periodicals Z1037. B7218, online from 11/01/1998)
A monthly print children's literature journal featuring bibliographies on assorted curricular topics, usually an assortment of realistic books, fiction, poetry, and even some multimedia. At least one issue per year is devoted to science topics. A keyword index covering from 1990 to the present is available full text online.
E for Environment: An Annotated Bibliography of Children's Books with Environmental Themes. (Ref Z1037.9 .S57 1992)
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
A list published annually in the March issue of the journal Science & Children (Periodicals LB1585 .S34). Beginning in 2002 the list includes secondary level books. The lists since 1996 are also available on the web site of the National Science Teachers Association.

top

Curriculum Bulletins

Regional

New York City
A link to city performance standards and the scope & sequence for teaching science.
New York State
A link to state standards & resources for teaching science.

National

Benchmarks Online
Statements of what all students should know or be able to do in science, mathematics and technology by the end of grades 2, 5, 8, & 12. (Available in the Queens Stacks in hard copy, too - Q183.3 A1 B46 1993)
Next Generation Science Standards
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
A searchable online collection of curricula from all over the country. Most (1983-2000) are available in microfiche format, but, with the 20th edition (2001), many curricula are available full text online. (Some earlier materials are being made available full text in 2003.) If the curriculum is not available full text, the document number of the fiche is given and can be located in the Education Curriculum Center (ECC) on the first floor of Rosenthal Library (Room 109B). Fiche reader/printers in the adjoining Media Center are available to take notes and photocopy.

top

Web Resources

How Science Works: The Flowchart
Learner.org
Annenberg Media resources provided for free with registration.
MERLOT—Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching
Free, peer reviewed online resources to support a variety of sciences and grade levels.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
ben (BiosciEdNet) — For teaching and learning the biological sciences (K-12)
ChemEdDL (Chemical Education Digital Library)
DLESE (Digital Library for Earth System Education — K-12)
ComPADRE — A network of online resource collections and community web sites supporting physics and astronomy education
Science Literacy Maps — A tool for teachers to find resources that relate to specific science concepts
National Science Teachers Association - NSTA
Web site of the professional teacher organization that offers resources and publishes major science education journals.
Science Teaching Tools
Understanding Evolution

top

Journals

NSTA Journals

Science & Children- Elementary (Periodicals LB1585 .S34)
from 03/01/1997 to present in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
from 01/01/2005 to present in Education Research Complete
from 04/01/2005 to present in Education Full Text
Science Scope - Middle School (Periodicals LB1585 .S35)
from 05/01/1997 to present in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
from 01/01/2005 to present in Education Research Complete
from 04/01/2005 to present in Education Full Text
Science Teacher - High School (Periodicals Q181 .S38)
from 03/01/1989 to present in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
from 04/01/2005 to present in Education Full Text
from 09/01/2005 to present in Education Research Complete

Additional Journals

American Biology Teacher - (Periodicals QH1 .A275)
from 2000 to present in BioOne.1
from 01/01/2000 to 6 months ago in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
from 11/01/2005 to present in Academic Search Complete and Education Research Complete
Journal of Biological Education
from 03/01/1990 to present in Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
from 04/01/1996 to present in Education Full Text
Journal of Chemical Education - (Periodicals QD1 .J93)
from 1924 to present in EBSCOhost EJS
from 01/01/1994 to 12/31/2000 in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
Journal of Research in Science Teaching - (Periodicals Q181 A1 J6)
from 1996 to present in Wiley InterScience Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection
Journal of Science Education and Technology
from 01/01/1997 to present in Springer Americas
from 03/01/2000 to 1 year ago in Education Research Complete
Journal of Science Teacher Education
from 01/01/1997 to present in Springer Americas
from 02/01/2000 to 1 year ago in Education Research Complete
from 01/01/2001 to 1 year ago in Education Full Text
Physics Education - (Periodicals QC30 .P46)
from 1966 to present in EBSCOhost EJS
from 2001 to present in Institute of Physics
Physics Teacher - (Periodicals QC30 P48)
from 1963 to present in EBSCOhost EJS
Science Activities
from 03/01/1990 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete and MasterFILE Premier
from 01/01/1994 to 06/30/2009 in Academic OneFile
from 01/01/1996 to 01/31/2010 in Education Full Text
from 10/01/1996 to 10/31/2010 in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)
Science & Education
from 01/01/1997 to present in Springer Americas
from 01/01/2000 to 1 year ago in Education Research Complete
Science Education
from 1996 to present in Wiley InterScience Journals and Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection
from 07/01/2006 to 1 year ago in Education Research Complete
Science Nation
Teaching Science—The Journal of the Australian Science Teachers Association
from 03/01/2004 to present in Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete and MasterFILE Premier
from 12/01/2004 to present in ProQuest Research Library (Legacy Platform)

Links to Lesson Plans are on the Education Curriculum Center page.

Children's Periodicals

Surprise! These MAY be borrowed from the Education Curriculum Center (ECC) on level 1 of the library. They are on the shelves to the left of the entrance. Many have additional activities & ideas that can be used in thematic units. Ranger Rick (1987-) and Your Big Backyard (1991-) are among the titles with the most science information.

top

Textbooks

Sets of teacher's annotated editions of textbooks are in a collection just beyond the 4th floor Juvenile Collection. They are arranged by curricular topic, assigned a number, and then alphabetical by publisher. Each publisher set is then arranged in grade order and numbered, if there are additional pieces (lab manuals, chapter supplements, assessments, Spanish language supplements, etc.). The most relevant textbook ranges for science are:

  • 81 - General Science
  • 82 - Biology
  • 83 - Chemistry
  • 84 - Physics
  • 85 - Earth Science/Environmental Science

top

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS