Skip Navigation
 

English & Language Arts Education Resources

Curriculum Bulletins

Regional

New York City
A link to the city Dept. of Education with resources and support for teaching English and Language Arts.
New York State
A link to the state standards and resources for teaching English and Language Arts.
Common Core State Standards
A link to the standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects.

National

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
A link to a downloadable version of the standards developed by the NCTE and the International Reading Association (IRA). Also available in hardcopy as a circulating book, Standards for the English Language Arts (LB1576 .N274 1996).
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
A searchable online collection of curricula from all over the country. Most (1983–2000) are available in microfiche format, but with the 20th edition (2001) many curricula are available full text online (some earlier materials are being made available full text). If the curriculum is not available full text, the document number of the fiche is given and can be located in the Education Curriculum Center (ECC) on the first floor of Rosenthal Library (Room 109B). Fiche reader/printers in the adjoining Media Center are available to take notes and photocopy.

top

Journals

A selection of recommended journal titles (Useful articles can come up in other journals). Some years are available full text online as indicated. The most recent hard copies can be located by call number on the library 1st floor. Use the ERIC database to determine which journal has articles on the desired topic.

Language Arts (1989 to present)
Also available at Periodicals Level 1 (LB1576 .A1 E6).
Primary Voices K-6 (1998 to 2002; Discontinued 2002)
Also available at Periodicals Level 1 (LB1576 .P953).
Voices from the Middle (1997 to present)
Also available at Periodicals Level 1 (LB1631 .V65).
English Journal (1988 to present)
Also available in JSTOR (1912 to 2004), and at Periodicals Level 1 (PE1 .E5).
English Education (1997 to present)
Also available at Periodicals Level 1 (LA632 .E52).

top

Databases

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Reviews of children's AND young adult literature, including many awards besides the Newbery and Caldecott Medals (Orbis Pictus and Robert Sibert awards for children's non-fiction). Also many annual recommended book lists (notable books in Language Arts from NCTE, in Science from the National Science Teachers Asso ciation, in Social Studies from the National Council on the Social Studies, as well as Books for a Global Society, Books for Reluctant Readers, et. al.).
Good Conversations
Video interviews with children's authors and video discussion guides to selected children's books.
NoveList Plus
Citations to current books; full-text of annotations and reviews of book titles; includes book award lists and book discussion guides; a readers' advisory resource.

top

Web Resources

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
A professional association of educators in English studies, literacy, and language arts.
ReadWriteThink
A website collaboration between NCTE and IRA providing standards, lesson plans, and other resources.
Stuff for the Teen Age
The New York Public Library's picks of the best in teen books and media. A list of the 100 best titles of the previous year and postings about picks from the list and from the current year plus a variety of other topics related to teen books and media.

top

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS