Skip Navigation
 

Children's Literature Resources

Research

Children's Literature: A Guide to Information Sources (Ref. Z1037 .D35 1998)
An annotated bibliography of mostly print and some online resources on children's literature.
Children's Literature Dictionary (Ref. PN1008.5 .L38 2002)
Everyone's Guide to Children's Literature (Ref. Z1037.A1 W37 1997)
An annotated guide to children's literature in reference books, journals, special collections, and more.
Handbook of Research on Children's and Young Adult Literature (Ref. PS121 .H22 2010)
Research & Professional Resources in Children's Literature: Piecing a Patchwork Quilt (Ref. Z1037.A1 R46 1995)
A book version of the breadth of resources available on children's literature.

top

Author/Illustrator Studies

Something About the Author (SATA, Ref. PN 451 .S6)
Since 1971, the basic resource providing biographical information, bibliographies of works, & critiques. The most recent volume providing the cumulative index will lead the researcher through the various volumes that have pertinent information about the desired author/illustrator.
Something About the Author. Autobiography Series. (Ref. PN 497 .S66)
26 volume set providing autobiographical information about numerous authors & illustrators. Since 1998 this information has been incorporated into the basic SATA series.
Children's Literature Review. (Ref. PN 1009 .A1 C5139)
Since 1976, a complementary series to SATA, focusing on criticism of children's authors/illustrators. Includes excerpts from various reviews as well as citations to the complete articles.
Black Authors & Illustrators Of Children's Books: A Biographical Dictionary, 2nd ed. (Ref. Z1037 .R63 1992)

top

Guides to Children's Books

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books (Ref Z1037. L715 2006)
A print bibliography of picture books by subject. No reviews or evaluations of books.
Book Links (Periodicals Z1037 .B7218. Available online from 11/1/98.)
A monthly children's literature journal featuring bibliographies on assorted curricular topics, usually an assortment of realistic books, fiction, poetry, and even some multimedia.
Children's Book Review Index (Reference, Table 23)
A guide to reviews of children's books from 1965 to the present.
Picture Books for Children, 4th ed./Patricia J. Cianciolo. (Ref. Z1037 .C565 1997)
A guide with annotations to recent, quality picture books divided into the major categories of Me and My Family, Other People, The World I Live In, and The Imaginative World.

top

Databases

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
A database that allows customized searches for full text children's book reviews by author, subject or genre. Includes links to notable book lists and award lists.
Good Conversations
Video interviews with children's authors and video discussion guides to selected children's books.
Something About the Author
This online version combines the hard copy resources Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series.

top

Children's Literature Web Sites

Children's Literature Web Guide
A tremendous database on children's literature, including recommended reading lists, author & illustrator sites, and links to many other useful sites. Great for background material, but not updated since 2001.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
Easy resource for creating book lists by topic, grade level, genre, or awards.
Reading Rockets
A source for video interviews of major children's authors & illustrators, as well as other literacy resources.

top

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS