Physics Research Guide
The main purpose of this research guide is to provide you an opportunity of one-stop shopping for relevant, useful and scholarly information about Chemistry, Biochemistry & allied subjects.
- CUNY+ Catalog
- Search for books at the Queens College libraries, as well as other CUNY libraries.
- Library Catalogs
- Search the library catalogs of regional libraries such as the Queens Library, Brooklyn Public Library, New York University, Columbia University, etc.
- New York Public Library
- Search CATNYP, the catalog of the research libraries at NYPL. Books at the research libraries are non-circulating and must be consulted on site. NYPL has one of the premier research collections in the country and is open to all New York State residents.
- Search for books in the national catalog for the United States and Canada. Includes holdings from libraries in other parts of the world, primarily European or English-speaking.
Important Reference Books
- American Institute of Physics Handbook. (Ref QC 61 A5 1972)
- Dictionary of Physics and Allied Sciences, by Hyman, Charles J. (Ref QC 5 .D5)
- International Dictionary of Geophysics; Seismology, Geomagnetism, Oceanography, Geodes 1967 (Ref QC 801.9 I5)
- The History of Classical Physics: A Selected, Annotated Bibliograph, by Roderick Weir. New York: Garland, 1984. (Z7141 .H65 1984)
- Information Sources in Physics. 3rd ed. (QC21.2 .I535 1994)
- Macmillan encyclopedia of physics by John H. Rigden. (QC5 .M15 1996)
- A Dictionary of Physics, by John Daintith, 2005 (Electronic Resource)
Handbooks & Tables
- American Institute of Physics. AIP Style Manual. 4th ed. New York: American Institute of Physics, 1990.
- AIP Physics Desk Reference. 3rd ed. Edited by E. Richard Cohen, David R. Lide, George L. Trigg. New York: AIP Press, c2003. (Ref QC61 .P49 2003)
- A Physicist's Desk Reference Anderson, edited by L. Herbert , 2nd ed. New York: American Institute of Physics, 1989. (Ref QC61 .P49 1989)
- A Dictionary of Scientific Units: Including Dimensionless and Numbers and Scales. 6th ed. London and New York: Chapman & Hall, 1992. (Ref QC82 .J4 1980)
- Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants. 16th ed. Essex, England and New York: Longman, 1995. (Ref QC61 .K3 1995)
- Handbook of Physical Calculations: Definitions, formulas, Technical Applications, Physical Tables, Conversion Tables, Graphs, Dictionary of Physical Terms. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1983. (QC61 .T85 1983)
- American Institute of Physics Journals
- AIP provides publishing services to more than 25 scientific and professional societies and is a pioneer and leader in electronic publishing.
- Annual Reviews
- Provides definitive critical reviews of the scientific and social scientific research literature of 34 disciplines, including Physics.
- Applied Science & Technology Index
- Find information from a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering—from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings.
- General Science Full Text
- Easy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information.
- INSPEC Database (coverage now available from 1969) contains nearly 10 million bibliographic abstracts and indexing to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports and other literature from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
- Optics Infobase
- Provides access to current and past volumes of all journals published by the Optical Society of America. It also contains OSA's conference proceedings.
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from the leading scholarly science and technical journals in more than 150 disciplines.
- Wiley Interscience
- Wiley InterScience provides access to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works.
Data & Statistics
- The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
- SPIRES High Energy Physics
- Search about 500,000 high energy articles related to physics, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, since 1974. SPRES - HEP is a joint project of Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), DESY & FNAL and the worldwide HEP community.
- NASA Astrophysics Data System
- The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 3.9 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy.
Associations & Societies
- American Astronomical Society
- American Association of Variable Star Observers
- International Astronomical Union
- American Institute of Physics
- Institute of Physics
- Canadian Astronomical Society
- Royal Astronomical Society of Canada
- Google Scholar searches author, publisher and open access web sites.
- PhysNet, a web portal of physics departments, documents, document servers, journals, conferences, education, jobs, and more worldwide.
- Scirus is a science-specific search engine searching science-specific web pages. Use it to find scientific articles, patents, reports and websites.
- Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. It searches over 36 databases and 200 million pages of science information via one query.
Other Useful Websites
- NIST Physics Laboratory, Physical Reference Data
- Find information on physical constants, atomic spectroscopy data, elemental data index, molecular spectroscopic data, atomic and molecular data, x-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear physics data, condensed matter physics data and more.
- Physics Web
- Website from the Institute of Physics with news, jobs, resources, products and more.
- Stanford Linear Accelerator Center
- Website of SLAC with information about high energy physics, research, and more.
- Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
- National Laboratory of the Department of Energy whose mission statement is, “Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory advanced the understanding of the fundamental nature of matter and energy by providing leadership and resources for qualified researchers to conduct basic research at the frontiers of high energy physics and related disciplines.”
- College Physics for Students of Biology and Chemistry
- A hypertext book which includes problem sets, a table of contents, and an index.
- Online Particle Physics Information
- List of websites related to particle physics such as conferences, directories, e-prints, journals, education, and more.
- Particle-Surface Resources on the Internet
- List of almost 200 links Dr. Mark Shapiro a professor at CSU, Fullerton.
- Fundamental Physical Constants
- List of physical constants.
- “PhysLink.com is a comprehensive physics and astronomy online education, research and reference web site.”