Social Studies Education Resources
Please visit the Educational Curriculum Center for additional resources.
- New York City
- A link to the city Dept. of Education with resources and support for teaching social studies
- New York State
- A link to the state standards and resources for teaching social studies
- Common Core State Standards
- A link to the standards for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies (especially the sections entitled Reading: Informational Text)
- National Curriculum Standards for Social Studies: A Framework for Teaching, Learning, and Assessment (Ref. H62.5 .U5 N354 2010)
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library
- A searchable online collection of curricula from all over the country. Most (1983–2000) are available in microfiche format, but, with the 20th edition (2001), many curricula are available full text online (some earlier materials are being made available full text). If the curriculum is not available full-text, the document number of the fiche is given and can be located in the Education Curriculum Center (ECC) on the first floor of Rosenthal Library (Room 109B). Fiche reader/printers in the adjoining Media Center are available to take notes and photocopy.
Guides to Children's Books
- A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books Ref Z1037. L715 2006)
- A print bibliography of picture books by subject. No reviews or evaluations of books.
- Book Links (Periodicals Z1037 .B7218, also online in E Periodicals A-Z)
- A monthly children's literature journal featuring bibliographies on assorted curricular topics, usually an assortment of realistic books, fiction, poetry, and even some multimedia.
- Literature Connections to American History, K-6: Resources to Enhance and Entice. (Ref Z1236 .A33 1998)
- Literature Connections to World History, K-6: Resources to Enhance and Entice. (Ref Z1037.A1 A28 1998)
- Our Family, Our Friends, Our World: An Annotated Guide to Significant Multicultural Books for Children and Teenagers. (Ref Z1037 M654 1992)
- A good “core collection” which should offer encouragement to explore the newer books that have been published since this guide.
- Picture books for children, 4th ed. (Ref Z1037 .C565 1997)
- An excellent annotated list of recent picture books covering such favorite early childhood topics as family, other people, the world I live in, and the imaginative world.
- Understanding American history through children's literature: instructional units and activities for grades K-8. (LB 1582 .U6 P47 1994)
- U.S. history through children's literature: from the colonial period to World War II. (LB1582.U6 M49 1997)
Children's Literature Web Sites
- Children's Literature
- A database that allows customized searches for full text children's book reviews (including young adult books) by author, subject or genre. Includes links to notable book lists and award lists.
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
- Easy resource for creating book lists by topic, grade level, genre, or awards--including Notable Social Studies Books for Young People.
- A database allowing online searching of an index to many children's periodicals. Some available full text, some without accompanying illustrations. A separate option on the menu offers pictures.
Annual Book Lists
- Notable Social Studies Books for Young People
- Selected by the National Council for the Social Studies. Published annually in the journal Social Education. Includes annotations and some of the thematic strands from Expectations of Excellence: Curriculum Standards for Social Studies. Lists from recent years may be downloaded, but the newest list online is only available to NCSS members.
Online Picture Resources
- Includes a new option for pictures.
Field Trip Resources
- NYC culture catalog: a guide to New York City's museums, theaters, zoos, libraries, botanical gardens, concert halls, and historic houses. (Ref. F128.18 .N386 1994)
- New York City museum guide (Art Ref. AM13.N5 N48 1995)
- The Living History Sourcebook (E159 .A53 1985 also in Ref.)
- America's Ancient Treasures: A Guide to Archaeological Sites and Museums in the United States and Canada/3rd rev., enl. ed. (Ref. E56 .F64 1982)
Education Curriculum Center (ECC) Materials
Sets of primary document copies (Jackdaws) can be located using the CUNY Catalog by typing “jackdaw” in the keyword search box.
Social Studies children's periodicals available in the ECC:
- Cobblestone, Faces, Zillions, Cricket, Ladybug, et al.
Use Searchasaurus to search an index to many children's periodicals. Some available full text, some without accompanying illustration; but a separate option on the Searchasaurus menu offers pictures.
The oversized drawers in the ECC contain assorted pictures that may be used for bulletin boards and thematic units.
Guides to Software & Other Media
- CD-ROM for Librarians and Educators: A Guide to Over 800 Instructional Resources, 2nd Ed. (LB1028.7 .S67 1996)
- Media Review Digest. (Ref Z 5784.M9 M85)
- An annual guide to various media on a range of educational subjects, including descriptions, cited reviews, and publishers' addresses.
- School Library Journal. (Periodicals Z675.S3 S29115, also available online)
- A monthly journal that includes reviews of new educational multimedia. Reviews feature ease of use and also problems, such as difficulty loading software.
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
- The Government Printing Office's introduction for students with assistance from “Ben” Franklin.
- The official kids' portal for the U.S. government.
- Educational Resources of the New York State Archives
- From the New York State Archives web site
- Teaching American History
- Resources for teaching American History in the elementary classroom.