Skip Navigation
 

Education Research Guide

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Read the encyclopedia articles related to your subject before you begin to search the periodical literature. Use the selective bibliographies appending each article to identify important studies and significant authors in the field. Equally important sources are listed below under Handbooks & Guides.

The Autism Encyclopedia (Ref. RC553 .A88 A847 2005)
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development (2006)
Child Development (Ref. HQ772 .C436 2002)
Countries and their Cultures (2001)
Critical Thinking and Learning: An Encyclopedia for Parents and Teachers (Ref. LB1590.3 .C735 2004)
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology (Ref. RJ135 .A26 2011, 3rd edition)
Dictionary of Education, 1973 (Ref. LB15 .G6)
An excellent dictionary; more recent dictionaries in education supplement rather than replace this work.
Dictionary of Multicultural Education, 1997 (Ref. LC1099/D53)
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation (Ref. LC3957 .V47 1997, 4th edition)
Encyclopedia of African American Education (2010)
Encyclopedia of American Education (Ref. LB17 .U54 2001, 3 vols., 2nd edition)
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education (2008)
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education (Ref. LC3707 .E53 1998)
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media (2007)
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society (Ref HQ767.84 .E53 2004, 3 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Counseling (Ref. BF636.54 .E53 2008, 4 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology (Ref. LB1027.55 E48 2008, 2 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies (2010)
Encyclopedia of Disability (2006)
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning (2005)
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education (Ref. LC1099 .E53 2012, 4 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education (Ref. LB1139.23 .E53 1992)
Encyclopedia of Education (2003, 2nd edition)
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development (2005)
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration (2006)
Encyclopedia of Educational Media Communication and Technology (Ref. LB1042.5 .E52 [1988])
Long explanatory articles with references as well as short definitions of terms.
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology (Ref LB1050.9 .E63 2008, 2 vols.)
The Encyclopedia of Educational Research (Ref. LB15 .E48 1992, 4 vols.)
Use this 6th edition to find a comprehensive evaluation of the research related to your subject. Extensive bibliographies follow each chapter. The subject index is in Volume 4.
Encyclopedia of English Studies and Language Arts (Ref. PE65 .E47 1994, 2 vols.)
The Encyclopedia of Higher Education (Ref. LB15 .E49 1992, 4 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Infant & Early Childhood Development (Ref. HQ767.84 .E545 2008, 3 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Language and Education (Ref. P40.8 .E53 2008, 10 vols., 2nd edition)
Cumulative indexes are in Volume 10. The back of each volume also contains the table of contents for the other volumes.
Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities (Ref LC4704.5 .T86 2006, 2nd edition)
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education (Ref. QA11 .E665 2001)
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (2006)
Encyclopedia of School Psychology (Ref. LB1027.55 .E52 2004)
Encyclopedia of School Psychology (Ref. LB 1027.55 .E523 2005)
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education (2009)
Encyclopedia of Special Education (Ref. LC4007 .E53 2007, 3 vols., 3rd edition)
Summative and easy-to-read entries cover all aspects of special education, biography, publications, techniques, history, and research. Short bibliographies.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence (Ref. HQ772 .G27 1998)
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2014, 3rd edition)
International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems. (Ref. LB15 .I565 2013, 2 vols.)
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence (Ref. HQ796 .I58 2007, 2 vols.)
International Encyclopedia of Developmental and Instructional Psychology (Ref. BF712.7 .I58 1996)
The International Encyclopedia of Education (Ref. LB15 .I569 1994, 12 vols., 2nd edition)
One of the best sources for background material, this quite readable encyclopedia includes research studies that have contributed to the literature. The subject index is in Volume 12.
International Encyclopedia of Educational Evaluation (Ref. LB2822.75 .I57 1990)
International Encyclopedia of Educational Technology (Ref. LB1028.3 .I567 1996, 2nd edition)
Key Words in Multicultural Interventions: A Dictionary (1999)
Learning and Memory (2003, 2nd edition)
Learning and Memory: A Comprehensive Reference(2008)
Learning Theories A to Z (Ref. LB15 .L4695 2002)
The Literacy Dictionary: The Vocabulary of Reading and Writing (Ref. LB1049.98 .L58 1995)
Paulo Freire Encyclopedia (Ref. LB880 .F732 P3745 2012)
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia (Ref. LB17 .P485 1996)
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia (2009)
The School Services Sourcebook. (Ref. LB3013.4 .S372 2013, 2nd edition)
World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide (Ref. LB15 .W87 2002, 3 vols., 2nd edition)

top

Handbooks & Guides

Handbooks in education are often substantial reviews of the research literature, similar to the Encyclopedia of Educational Research but with a narrower focus. Guides are more practical, with subject overview and information on legislation, organizations, tests, and bibliographical references.

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook(2008)
Affective, Interactive, and Cognitive Methods for E-Learning Design: Creating an Optimal Education Experience (2010)
Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders Sourcebook (2011)
Best Practices in School Neuropsychology (Ref. RJ486.5 .B47 2010)
Bilingual Education and English as a Second Language: A Research Handbook, 1988-1990 (Ref. LC3731 .B5468 1991)
Comprehensive Handbook of Multicultural School Psychology (Ref. LB1027.55 .C655 2005)
Educational Research, Methodology, and Measurement: An International Handbook (Ref. LB1028 .E3184 1997, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Adolescent Literacy Research (Ref. LB 1623 H363 2009)
Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders (Ref. RJ506 .A9 H26 2005, 2 vols., 3rd edition)
Handbook of Asian Education (Ref. LA1141 H38 2011)
Handbook of Child Psychology (Ref. BF721 .H242 2006, 4 vols., 6th edition)
Four volume set: I. Theoretical Models of Human Development. II. Cognition, Perception, and Language. III. Social, Emotional, and Personality Development. IV. Child Psychology in Practice.
Handbook of College Reading and Study Strategy Research (Ref. LB2395.3 .H36 1999)
Also an ebook 2000 edition.
Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention in the Schools (Ref. LB1027.55 .C74 2002, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Early Childhood Education (Ref. LB1139.25 .H343 2012)
Handbook of Early Childhood Literacy (Ref. LB1139.5 .L35 H36 2003)
Handbook of Early Literacy Research (Ref. LB1139.5 .L35 H37 2001, 2 vols.)
Handbook of Education and Human Development (Ref. LB1115 .H313 1996)
Handbook of Education Policy Research (Ref. LC71 .H363 2009)
Handbook of Educational Psychology (Ref. LB1051 .H2354 2006, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Family Literacy (Ref. LC151 .H33 2012, 2nd edition)
Handbook of International Research in Mathematics Education (Ref QA11.2 .H36 2002)
Handbook of International School Psychology (Ref. LB1027.55 .H357 2007)
Handbook of Language and Literacy (Ref. LC149 .H27 2004)
Handbook of Latinos and Education (Ref. LC2669 H36 2010)
Handbook of Learning Disabilities (Ref. LC4704 .H364 2003)
Handbook of Motivation at School (Ref. LB1065 W46 2009)
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling (BF637 .C6 H3174 2001, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Multicultural School Psychology (Ref. LB1027.55 .M85 2007)
Handbook of Orthography and Literacy (Ref. P118 .H349 2005)
Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education (Ref. H62 .H2456 1991)
Handbook of Reading Research (Ref. LB1050 .H278, 3 vols., 1984, 1991, 2000, 2010)
A four volume comprehensive review of past and current research.
Handbook of Research and Policy in Art Education (Ref N103 .H36 2004)
Handbook of Research Design in Mathematics and Science Education (Ref. QA11 .H256 2000)
Also an ebook edition.
Handbook of Research in Education Finance and Policy (Ref. LB2824 .H36 2008)
Handbook of Research in School Consultation (Ref. LB2799.2 .H36 2008)
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning (Ref. P118.2 .H359 2005)
Handbook of Research in Social Studies Education (Ref. LB1584 .H2748 2008)
Continuation and update of the Handbook of Research on Social Studies Teaching and Learning.
Handbook of Research on Catholic Education (2001)
Handbook of Research on Collaborative Learning Using Concept Mapping (Ref. LB1032 .H367 2010)
Handbook of Research on Curriculum (Ref. LB1570 .H264 1992)
Handbook of Research on Educational Administration (Ref LB2805 .H2864 1999, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology (Ref. LB1028.3 .H355 2008, 3rd edition)
Handbook of Research on Educational Leadership for Equity and Diversity (Ref. LB2805 .H2866 2013)
Handbook of Research on ePortfolios, 2006.
Handbook of Research on Improving Learning & Motivation through Educational Games (Ref. LB1029 .G3 H36 2011, 2 vols.)
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity (Ref. LB1576 .H2337 2009)
Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12 Level, 2006.
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education (Ref. LC1099.3 .H35 2004, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Research on New Literacies (Ref. LB1043 .H328 2008)
Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension (Ref. LB1050.45 .H365 2009)
Handbook of Research on School Choice (Ref. LB1027.9 .H344 2009)
Handbook of Research on School Supervision (Ref. LB2806.4 .H36 1998)
Handbook of Research on Science Education (Ref. Q181 .H149 2007)
Handbook of Research on Social Studies Teaching and Learning (Ref. LB1584 .H275 1991)
Updated by the Handbook of Research in Social Studies Education.
Handbook of Research on Special Education Teacher Preparation (Ref. LC3969.45 .H354 2014)
Handbook of Research on Teacher Education (Ref. LB1715 .H274 2008, 3rd edition)
Handbook of Research on Teaching (Ref. LB1028 .H315 2001, 4th edition)
An important resource. Consult the subject index for references to your topic.
Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts (Ref. P91.3 .H36 1997, 2006, 2 vols.)
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts (Ref. LB1576 .H234 2010, 3rd edition)
Handbook of Research on the Education of School Leaders (Ref. LB 2831.82 H36 2009)
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children (Ref. LB1119 .H25 2013, 3rd edition)
Handbook of Research on the Psychology of Mathematics Education: Past, Present and Future (Ref. QA11.2 .H37 2006)
Handbook of Research on Writing (Ref. P211 .B394 2008)
Handbook of School Counseling (Ref. LB1027.5 .H34 2008)
Handbook of School Psychology (Ref. LB1051 .H2356 2009, 4th edition)
Handbook of School Violence and School Safety (Ref. LB3010.3 .H346 2012)
Handbook of Special and Remedial Education: Research and Practice (Ref. LC3965 .H263 1995, 2nd edition)
Handbook of Special Education (Ref. LC3965 .H262 2011)
Handbook of Special Education Technology Research and Practice (Ref LC4024 .H36 2005)
Handbook of Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge (TPCK) for Educators (Ref. LB1028.3 .H356 2008)
Handbook of Writing Research (Ref. PE1404 .H358 2006)
International Handbook of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education, 1988.(Ref. P115 .I58)
Text devoted primarily to 25 case studies in different countries.
International Handbook of Curriculum Research (Ref. LB2806.15 .I595 2003)
International Handbook of Early Childhood Education (Ref. LB 1139.23 .I68 1992)
International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent (Ref LC3993 .I596 2002, 2nd edition)
International Handbook of Literacy & Technology (Ref. LB 1028.43 .I673 2006) 2nd vol.
International Handbook of Research in Arts Education (Music Ref. NX280 .I56 2007, 2 vols.)
International Handbook of Research on Environmental Education (Ref. GE70 .I584 2013)
International Handbook of Research on Teachers and Teaching (Ref LB 1025.3 .I573 2009, 2 vols.)
International Handbook of Urban Education (Ref. LC5115 .I57 2007, 2 vols.)
Motivating Readers in the Middle Grades (LB1632 C575 2008)
New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Music Ref. MT1 .S44 2002)
Oxford Handbook of School Psychology (Ref. LB1027.55 O94 2011)
Praeger Handbook of Education and Psychology (Ref. LB1051 .P635 2007, 4 vols.)
Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. (Ref. LC2669 .P73 2007, 2 vols.)
Praeger Handbook of Learning & the Brain (Ref. LB1060 .P683 2006, 2 vols.)
Praeger Handbook of Urban Education (Ref. LC5131 .P7 2006, 2 vols.)
Researching History Education (Ref. D16 .L58 2008)
Sage Handbook for Research in Education (Ref. LB1028 .S14 2011, 2nd edition)
Sage Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction (Ref. LB2806.15 .S24 2008)
Sage Handbook of Developmental Disorders (RJ506 .D47 S24 2011)
Sage Handbook of Educational Leadership (Ref. LB2805 .S262 2005)
Sage Handbook of Gender and Education (Ref. LC212.9 .S24 2006)
Sage Handbook of Philosophy of Education (Ref. LB17 S244 2010)
Sage Handbook of Special Education (Ref. LC3965 .S24 2007)
Second Handbook of Research on Mathematics Teaching and Learning, 2007 (Ref. QA11 .S365 2007, 2 vols.)
An update of the 1992 handbook.

top

Annual Reviews

Essay Format

Usually a single volume reviewing current developments or research on a subject, although sometimes a bibliographic compilation of the year's research.

  • Advances in Early Education and Day Care: A Research Annual (Ref. HV854 .A64) Concentrates on basic issues.
  • Advances in Research on Teaching (LB1025.2 .A228)
  • Advances in Special Education (Ref. LC3950 .A36)
  • Review of Research in Education (Ref. LB1028 .R43)

top

Data & Statistics

National

Annual Reports of the National Center for Education Statistics

An online resource that brings together data from several NCES sources including: The Condition of Education (1992-), The Digest of Education Statistics (1990-), Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics.

Most educational statistics may be found as ERIC Documents because they are usually produced by government agencies.

New York State

Education Statistics for New York State

Click on the Table of Contents to see a variety of statistics broken down by topic that can be downloaded as Word or PDF documents.

top

Research Methodology

Anderson, S. Encyclopedia of Educational Evaluation, 1975 (Ref. LB2823 .E6)
Easy-to-read explanations of concepts and techniques such as the Delphi technique, ex post facto design, interest measurement, and halo effect.
Bailey, J. Research Methods in Applied Behavior Analysis (Ref. BF76.5 .B35 2002)
Cherulnik, P. Behavioral Research: Assessing the Validity of Research Findings in Psychology, 1983 (Ref. BF76.5 .C46)
A good explanation of research design.
Denzin, Norman K. SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research (Ref H62 .H2455 2005, 3rd edition)
Lichtman, Marilyn. Qualitative Research in Education: A User's Guide (Ref LB1028 .L436 2006)
Lindzey, G. The Handbook of Social Psychology (Ref. HM251 .H224 1998, 2 vols., 4th edition)
Use Volume I for information on methods of measurement in social psychology.
Mednick, S. Handbook of Longitudinal Research, 1984 (Ref. BF713 .H365)
Describes important longitudinal studies, such as Patterns of Child Rearing; New York Longitudinal Study; High-scope; Project Talent; Woodlawn Project; Youth in Transition; Dropouts and Delinquency.
Mertens, Donna M. Research and Evaluation in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Methods (Ref LB1028 .M3964 2005, 2nd edition)
National Education Association. A Sampling and Statistics Handbook for Research in Education, 1980 (Ref. LB1028 .M36)
A technical reference.
Richardson-Koehler, V. Educators Handbook: A Research Perspective, 1987 (Ref. LB1025.2 .E39)
Emphasis on an effective relationship between research and practice for the classroom teacher.

top

Databases (Indexes and Abstracts)

ERIC 1966-
The primary index that provides abstracts and access to many education journals, many peer-reviewed (Excel document), and unpublished education research (what ERIC calls documents). SOME full text
Education Source 1881-
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, book essays, conference papers, citations to book reviews. SOME full text.

top

Style Manuals

Be sure to use one to help organize your bibliographic notes and citations.

Consult the Citation Style Manuals.

top

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS