Skip Navigation
 

Databases

To connect from home to databases and other electronic resources, enter your active QCard library barcode when prompted. See instructions.

If databases are not loading properly, try using Databases: On Campus Only.

Find it! Learn more about Find it! options available in databases.

Browse the databases alphabetically:

Filter the database list by subject or source type:
DATABASE NAME DESCRIPTION
DATABASE NAME DESCRIPTION
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) Provides articles on the fields of accounting, advertising, business, company & industry information, management, economics, finance, and human resources.

Dates: 1971 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Business, Economics, Labor Studies, Textiles & Apparel
Abstracts in Anthropology Coverage of scholarly journals in Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.

Dates: 2001 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Linguistics, Sociology
Academic One File (Gale) Collection of over 12,000 multi-disciplinary scholarly journals and reference materials.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multidisciplinary database for scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources; a good starting point for research in all areas of study.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Accounting & Tax (ProQuest) Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax from almost 500 sources; includes top accounting and trade journals, working papers, and country and industry focused reports.

Dates: 1971 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Accounting, Taxation
ACLS Humanities E-Books Digital collection of approximately 4,000 electronic books (e-books), essays, and primary sources in the humanities; includes both in-print and out-of-print books, hand selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching.

Dates: 1857 - 2013
Sources: Books, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, Art, Arts & Humanities, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, History, Language & Literature, Theatre, Women’s Studies
ACM Digital Library The most comprehensive collection of articles and bibliographic records for the fields of computing and information technology; from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Dates: 1954 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Computer Science
ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) Comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals and magazines in the chemical and related sciences.

Dates: 1996 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Some full-text
Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) Database name change. See the entry for: NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA).
Agriculture Collection (Gale) Coverage of agricultural studies, from practical farming tips to the latest scientific research.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Biology, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geography
AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics) Collection of more than 100 journals from the American Institute of Physics and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies; also includes citations from over 450 journals, books, conferences, and patents.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Engineering, Geology, Physics
Alexander Street Press Cross-search streaming video from: Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volumes I & II, Dance in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Volumes 1 & II, Theatre in Video, Opera in Video, and VAST: Academic Video Online. Users can create & share playlists and video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Arts & Humanities, Film, Media Studies, Multidisciplinary, Social Sciences, Theatre
America: History and Life (EBSCO) Comprehensive index to the scholarly journal literature covering the History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present; includes articles published in over forty (40) languages. For coverage of the rest of the world, see: Historical Abstracts.

Dates: 1964 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: American Studies, Africana Studies, Family & Consumer Studies, History, Italian-American Studies, Jewish Studies
American Institute of Physics Journals (Scitation) Database name change. See the entry for: AIP Scitation (American Institute of Physics).
L'Annee Philologique (EBSCO) International index of scholarly resources covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity from Prehistory to 800 A.D.

Dates: 1924 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Arabic, Arts & Humanities, Classics, Comparative Literature, French, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, Hebrew & Yiddish, Italian, Language & Literature, Latin
Annual Reviews Collection of critical reviews of primary research literature written by leading scientists.

Dates: 1932 - present
Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Computer Science, Economics, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geology, Health & Medicine, Law, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Anthropological Index Online Citations to articles in scholarly journals held at the British Museum's Anthropology Library and Research Centre, and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute; covers all areas of Anthropology, and indexes journals in over forty (40) languages with English translations.

Dates: 1957 - present
Sources: Journals - Citations
Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Asian Studies, Linguistics, Sociology
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) Coverage of the research and development spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines.

Dates: 1913 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Physics, Technology
Art Abstracts (EBSCO) Coverage of over 400 leading art publications; includes art history and criticism, architecture, archeology, graphic and decorative arts, design, folk art, painting, photography, sculpture, museum studies, media, and more.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Images, Journals, Magazines - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Architecture, Art
Art Full Text (EBSCO) Comprehensive interdisciplinary coverage of art, art history, architecture, and more, from American and international publications; includes images (black-and-white only), and select full-text from 1997, with citations from 1984 and abstracts from 1993. For earlier coverage, see: Art Index Retrospective.

Note: Access is limited to eight (8) simultaneous users.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Images, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Architecture, Art
Art Index Retrospective (EBSCO) In-depth citations of print publications for art and architectural history, the visual arts, and media; includes images (black-and-white only), interviews, reviews, bibliographies, and exhibition listings. For contemporary coverage, see: Art Full Text.

Dates: 1929 - 1983
Sources: Images, Journals, Magazines - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Architecture, Art
Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCO) Access to over 165,000 high-quality art images from 3000 B.C. to present; a rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world.

Sources: Images
Subjects: Architecture, Art
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest) Premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention; also includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, fashion, and more.

Dates: 1974 - Present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Architecture, Art
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) Cross-search Gale's literature collections with added search visualization tools; includes content from: Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, MLA International Bibliography, Scribner Writers Online Series, and Twayne's Authors Online.

Dates: 1900 - present
Sources: Biographies, Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Arabic, Arts & Humanities, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, French, German, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, Hebrew & Yiddish, Hispanic Languages, History, Italian, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Multidisciplinary, Philosophy, Polish, Russian, Slavic Languages, Spanish
Artemis Primary Sources (Gale) Cross-search Gale's primary source collections with added search visualization tools; includes content from: Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Dates: 1800 - present
Sources: Books, Newspapers, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Arts & Humanities, Asian Studies, Comparative Literature, English, French, Greek-Modern, History, Italian, Languages & Literatures, Technology, Women’s Studies
ARTFL Project (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Collection of over 3,600 classic French language literary texts, covering non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to 20th centuries; includes some medieval and Renaissance texts.

Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Arts & Humanities, Comparative Literature, French, History, Language & Literature, Philosophy
Arts & Humanities Citation Index Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to 1,160 arts and humanities journals; use a Cited Reference Search to find articles that refer to and/or include an illustration of a work of art or a music score. See also: Web of Science.

Dates: 1975 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Arabic, Art, Arts & Humanities, Comparative Literature, Dance, Film, English, French, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, Hispanic Languages, Italian, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Spanish, Theatre
Artstor Access more than 1.6 million high-resolution images from internationally renowned interdisciplinary collections and museums; includes a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. Users can create and share personal folders, and explore detailed subject guides, featured collections, and commonly used search terms.

Note: For personalized features, users must register for an account with an active QC e-mail address.

Sources: Images
Subjects: Architecture, Art, Media Studies, Multidisciplinary, Textiles & Apparel, Theatre
Associations Unlimited (Gale) Directory of associations, professional societies, and nonprofit organizations at local, state, national and international levels.

Sources: Books, Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Business, Library & Information Studies
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) Coverage of research literature on Religion and Theology in over sixty (60) languages; includes topics on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and the social aspects of Religion. From the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).

Dates: 1949 - present
Sources: Images, Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Asian Studies, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion
Audit Analytics Detailed audit information on over 1,500 accounting firms and publicly registered companies; tracks disclosures related to audit, compliance, governance, corporate actions, and federal litigation.

Dates: 2000 - present
Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Law, Taxation
Barron's (ProQuest) Weekly trade periodical with reports on stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and hedge fund performance; it also reviews and ranks brokers and fund managers.

Dates: 1988 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics
Berg Fashion Library Cross-search the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion with other Berg e-books, reference works, images, and more; includes lesson plans for integrating resources into teaching, and users can save content and searches by registering for "My Stuff".

Sources: Books, Images, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, History, Sociology, Textiles & Apparel, Theatre
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) Access both the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the International Repertory of the Literature of Art/Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) from the Getty Research Institute; provides comprehensive international bibliography of scholarly writing about the visual arts and material culture of Europe from late antiquity, and the Americas from the colonial era to the present.

Dates: 1975 - 2007
Sources: Books, Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Architecture, Art
Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983 (EBSCO) Compilation of biographies on notable individuals. For contemporary biographies, see: Biography Reference Center.

Dates: 1946 - 1983
Sources: Biographies, Books, Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: History
Biography Reference Bank (EBSCO) Biographical information on more than half a million people, from antiquity to the present; includes images and links to relevant articles and other textual materials.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Biographies, Books, Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) Compilation of biographies culled from well-known collections, including Biography, Biography Today and American National Biography. For earlier biographies, see: Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Biographies, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education, History
BioOne Collection of over 150 scholarly journals.

Dates: 2001 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Biology, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Health & Medicine
Birds of North America Online Comprehensive scientific information on the life histories for all species of North American birds; includes image and video galleries showing plumages, behaviors, habitat, nests and eggs, and more.

Sources: Audio & Video, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Biology, Environmental Studies & Sciences
Black Newspapers (ProQuest) Collection of 14 esteemed African-American newspapers.

Dates: 1979 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Sociology
Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press) Digital collection of interviews, speeches, books, pamphlets and other primary historical sources by African-American authors.

Dates: 1700 - present
Sources: Books, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, History, Sociology
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Access to the eleven (11) volume encyclopedia; provides definitions of key terms and concepts, short and long entries on major topics, and essays on important sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe; includes a timeline and extensive bibliographies; updated regularly.

Dates: 2007 - present
Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Labor Studies, Sociology, Urban Studies
BNA Tax & Accounting Center Integrated resource for analysis and practice tools in the areas of federal tax, state tax, estates, gifts and trusts, and international tax.

Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Taxation
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO) Book reviews of current fiction and non-fiction on a wide range of topics; a valuable resource for readers’ advisory and collection development. For earlier reviews, see: Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982.

Dates: 1983 - present
Sources: Books - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (EBSCO) Retrospective collection of reviews of fiction and non-fiction; includes virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. For contemporary reviews, see: Book Review Digest Plus.

Dates: 1903-1982
Sources: Books - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Books in Print (Bowker) Information about books and multimedia titles published in U.S., Canada, Europe, U.K., and Australia; includes in print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books.

Sources: Books
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Business and Company ASAP (Gale) Comprehensive source for company data and business periodicals; includes U.S. and international private and public company directory listings, and PR Newswire releases.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics
Business Economics and Theory (Gale) Coverage of scholarly journals and magazines focusing on business and economics; includes video feeds from forbes.com and many titles within EconLit.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics
Business Expert Press
NEW
Collection of electronic books (e-books) that focus on topics related to business and management.

Dates: 2001 - 2014
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) Resource to locate detailed company and industry news and information; includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and statistical data. Previously called Business and Company Resource Center.

Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Taxation
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Coverage of the fields of management, economics, finance, accounting, and business from over 3,000 publications; includes company profiles, and country economic reports.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Labor Studies, Taxation
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities: Educational Directories Provides information on publishing in scholarly journals; includes manuscript submission requirements, review process details (blind/peer reviewed or editorial), acceptance rates, and more.

Subjects: Education, Educational Technology, Library & Information Studies
Cambridge University Press Journals Collection of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Browse the list of available journals.

Dates: 1997 - 2013
Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Official index to the electronic print publications of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the United States federal government; includes descriptive records for historical and current publications. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and keyword.

Dates: 1976 - present
Sources: Books - Citations, with links to those available online
Subjects: American Studies, Law, Multidisciplinary, Political Science
CCH Accounting Research Manager Access to FASB codification of Accounting Standards, as well as pre-codification and accounting standards from AICPA, EITF, IASB, PCAOB, and government agencies SEC, GAO, GASB, and OMB; includes CCH daily news, interpretations, and examples.

Sources: Newspapers
Subjects: Accounting, Law, Taxation
CCH Internet Industry documentation and news on all aspects of taxation and tax law. Note: First-time users must create an individual CCH user ID from a computer on campus.

Subjects: Accounting, Law, Taxation
Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) Provides tax regulations, tax codes, court cases, practice aids, audit guides, and AICPA standards; formerly RIA Checkpoint and AICPA Professional Library.

Subjects: Accounting, Law, Taxation
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) Reviews of children's books, video & audio recordings, and other children-focused media; includes notable book lists and award lists.

Dates: 1992 - present
Sources: Book Reviews
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology
Choice Reviews Online Reviews of academic books and digital resources.

Note: Access limited to four (4) simultaneous users.

Sources: Book Reviews
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Chronicle of Higher Education Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Newspapers
Chronicle of Philanthropy Weekly publication with coverage of the non-profit world; includes news, information, and job opportunities.

Dates: 1998 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics, Political Science, Sociology
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs; from Columbia University Press

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Political Science
CINAHL: Nursing and Allied Health (EBSCO) Complete coverage of scholarly nursing journals and publications in the field of nursing and allied health; from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.

Dates: 1981 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
Cinema Image Gallery (EBSCO) Digital collection of still images from movies, television and the entertainment industry; covers the history of movie-making and films in production.

Sources: Biographies, Images
Subjects: Art, Film, Media Studies
Classification Web Library of Congress (LC) Classification Schedules and LC Subject Headings.

Note: Access limited to four (4) simultaneous users.

Subjects: Library & Information Studies
Communication & Mass Media (EBSCO) Comprehensive coverage to subject areas related to communication and mass media; includes more than 600 journals, with full-text for more than 500 journals.

Dates: 1915 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Business, Educational Technology, Film, Journalism, Media Studies, Sociology
Communications and Mass Media Collection (Gale) Collection of more than 350 journals covering aspects of the communications field; suitable for marketing professionals to students studying linguistic theory.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Business, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Film, Journalism, Linguistics, Media Studies
Computer Database (Gale) Access to hundreds of subject-appropriate periodicals; provides product introductions, news and reviews for hardware, software, electronics, and the application of technology.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Technology
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions; users can use the “Conference” field to search for conference papers by conference title, location, date, and sponsor. See also: Web of Science.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Health & Medicine, Neuroscience, Physics
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions; users can use the “Conference” field to search for conference papers by conference title, location, date, and sponsor. See also: Web of Science.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Art, Business, Economics, Health & Medicine, History, Literature, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, Technology
Congress and Nation
(CQ Press)

NEW
The authoritative reference on Congressional trends, actions, and controversies.

Dates: 1965 - 2010
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Law, Political Science
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volumes I & II Collection of streaming video for the study of social work; includes counseling sessions, interviews, demonstrations, and lectures. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Educational Technology, Health & Medicine, Psychology, Sociology
CQ Researcher Weekly reports on a topic that is either newsworthy or an issue of broad interest in the public policy sphere; from the Washington reporting service Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Dates: 1991 - present
Sources: Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies
CQ Weekly Weekly reports on the activities of the U.S. Congress, such as the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and, all roll-call votes.

Dates: 1983 - present
Sources: Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics, Political Science
Criminal Justice Collection (Gale) Access to over 700 publications covering topic of criminal justice.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Law, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies
Culinary Arts Collection (Gale) Collection of recipes and other culinary information from cooking and nutrition magazines and reference sources; includes restaurant reviews, industry information and practical instruction.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Business, Family & Consumer Studies, Food, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
CUNY Databases Complete listing of databases provided by CUNY. If Queens College Libraries' databases are not working, access these databases with an active QCard library barcode.
Dance in Video Collection of streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre
Databases: On Campus Only Use this duplicate list of databases in the event Queens College Libraries' electronic resources cannot be accessed from on-campus. Note: Click here for more information if you cannot access resources from off-campus.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) Collection of short, critical biographies of literary authors.

Dates: 1978 - present
Sources: Books, Biographies, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Arabic, Comparative Literature, English, French, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, Hispanic Languages, Italian, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Spanish
Diversity Studies Collection (Gale) Access to over 150 scholarly and trade journals with a focus on diversity issues.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian Studies, Gender Studies, Italian-American Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin-American & Latino Studies, Women's Studies
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) Digital collection of sound recordings from New World Composers Recordings (formerly Composers Recordings Inc., CRI) documenting American music largely ignored by commercial recording companies. Some biographical information provided.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Music
Earthscape An integrated, interdisciplinary resource that connects the Earth and environmental sciences with their social, political, and economic dimensions.

Dates: 2009 - present
Subjects: Environmental Studies & Sciences
ebrary Collection of over 45,000 electronic books (e-books) in all disciplines.

Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
EBSCO eBook Collection Collection of electronic books (e-books); users can create a MyEBSCOhost account to save notes and create personal folders.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
EBSCOhost List of all available EBSCO databases. Note: To cross-search EBSCO content, select the option for "All".

Subjects: Multidisciplinary
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO) Access to scholarly publications from all fields of economics, including capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and more.

Dates: 1969 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Business, Economics, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Economist Historical Archive (Gale) A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist; includes multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic each week.

Dates: 1843 - 2010
Sources: Journals, Magazines
Subjects: Business, Economics, History, Political Science
Education Source (EBSCO) Coverage of all levels of education from early childhood to higher education; includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, book essays, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.

Dates: 1981 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology
eHRAF World Cultures A unique resource for the study of Cultural Anthropology, eHRAF is a cross-cultural database of ethnographic writings on all aspects of cultural and social life; content is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, and organized by cultures and ethnic groups. A Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) resource.

Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Family & Consumer Studies, Linguistics, Sociology
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) Digital collection of primary documents of the 18th century; includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Based on the English Short-Title Catalogue.

Dates: 1701 - 1800
Sources: Books, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, French, Greek-Modern, History, Italian, Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion
eLibrary Elementary (ProQuest) Collection of magazines & books aimed at elementary school students; a good resource for teachers & student teachers.

Sources: Books, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Education
Emerald Insight Collection of scholarly journal articles and books. Note: Full-text access limited to business and library science subjects.

Dates: 1994 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Library & Information Studies
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences (ELIS) Source for researching the field of library and information sciences.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Library & Information Studies
Encyclopedia of the Hellenic World Collection of encyclopedias and other documents to help record and present the understanding of Hellenic Culture throughout time; includes coverage of Asia Minor, the Aegean, Constantinople, Black Sea, and Boeotia.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Classics, Comparative Literature, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, History, Language & Literature, Latin
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection (Gale) Coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community and governmental policy makers.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Biology, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geography
ERIC (EBSCO) Access to educational literature and resources; includes over 1.4 million abstracts and citations of scholarly journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations, theses, and more; sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Dates: 1966 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts/citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology, Sociology
ERIC (ProQuest) Access to educational literature and resources; includes over 1.4 million abstracts and citations of scholarly journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations, theses, and more; sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Dates: 1966 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts/citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology, Sociology
Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCO) Citations to essays, articles, and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Full-text may be available in some cases. For earlier coverage, see: Essay and General Literature Retrospective.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Books - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Essay and General Literature Retrospective (EBSCO) Citations to essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada; covers 8 Centuries of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th Century. Full-text may be available in some cases. For contemporary coverage, see: Essay and General Literature Index.

Dates: 1900 - 1983
Sources: Books - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest) Interdisciplinary and comprehensive coverage of the ethnic, minority and native press in America, with some international coverage; includes the largest full-text archive of Native American publications.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Newspapers, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, French, German, Greek-Modern, Hebrew & Yiddish, Hispanic Languages, Italian, Jewish Studies, Latin American & Latino Studies, Language & Literature, Polish, Russian, Slavic Languages, Sociology, Spanish
Ethnographic Video Online, Volumes 1 & II Collection of streaming video, covering social sciences disciplines on themes such as language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, social stratification and status, and more. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO) Citations to books produced in Europe before 1750 that mention the discovery and emerging awareness of the Americas; derived from the printed bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.

Dates: 1493 - 1750
Sources: Books - Citations
Subjects: American Studies, Comparative Literature, Hispanic Languages, History, Language & Literature, Latin American & Latino Studies, Spanish
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale) Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many with full text and images.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Factiva (Dow Jones) Provides global news, and business & financial information; also includes information on companies & industries, and financial profiles.

Note: Access limited to five (5) simultaneous users.

Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Some full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO) Access material related to film and television research from theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews; includes articles as well as over 36,000 visual images.

Dates: 1914 - present
Sources: Images, Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Educational Technology, Film, Media Studies
Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale) Access to international scholarly and trade journals focusing on classical and popular music; includes many titles within RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, IIMP, and Music Index.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Art, Dance, Drama, Film, Music, Theatre
FLOW, from RefWorks
NEW
Tool for citation management that enables you to organize your research; users can add full-text documents, collaborate with other CUNY users, and import citations into Microsoft Word.

Note: RefWorks users can import existing citations. See instructions.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) Over 25,000 encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education
Gale PowerSearch List of all available Gale databases. Note: Users can cross-search select databases, or select the option for "All" to use Gale PowerSearch.

Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Gale Virtual Reference Library Digital reference collection of nearly 2,000 titles; includes encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books.

Sources: Biographies, Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Gannett Newsstand Complete (ProQuest) Access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers; includes Ithaca Journal, Journal News (White Plains), Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton), and Star-Gazette (Elmira).

Dates: 2002 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Gartner Provides research and analysis about the global information technology industry. Note: Users will be re-directed to the CUNY Portal to access.

Sources: Data & Statistics, Newspapers
Subjects: Business, Computer Science, Economics, Library & Information Studies, Technology
Gender Studies Collection (Gale) Access to over 100 journals covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Gender Studies, Women's Studies
General One File (Gale) Access to articles within general periodicals, newspapers, reference books, as well as multimedia sources; updated daily.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
General Science Collection (Gale) Access to 200 scholarly journals; includes American Scientist, National Geographic, and Nature.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Technology
General Science Full Text (EBSCO) Access to scientific literature from popular and scholarly publications; designed for students and non-specialists.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Food, Geography, Geology, Health & Medicine, Mathematics, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences, Physics
GeoRef (EBSCO) The most comprehensive database in the geosciences with over 3,500 journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses; each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added.

Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Geology, Environmental Studies & Sciences
Global Issues in Context (Gale) Provides news, global viewpoints, country information, primary source documents, statistical data, and multimedia resources on a broad range of global issues and current events.

Sources: Audio & Video, Magazines, Newspapers
Subjects: History, Journalism, Political Science
Good Conversations Online access to two streaming video series: Good Conversations, interviews with children's authors; and All About the Book, a discussion guide to selected children's books. Note: Resource currently unavailable (7.16.2014).

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Education, Library & Information Studies
Google Scholar A simple way to search for scholarly literature available at Queens College Libraries using a customized Google platform. Note: Click on "Full text at QC" for full-text access.

Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
GreenFILE (EBSCO) Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geography, Geology
Grolier Online Database name change. See the entry for: Scholastic GO.
Guide to Reference Guide to reference sources, organized by academic disciplines.

Sources: Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Library & Information Studies
HAPI Online(Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Covers scholarly journal articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States.

Dates: 1970 - present
Sources: Journals - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Comparative Literature, Hispanic Languages, History, Language & Literature, Latin American & Latino Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Spanish, Urban Studies
Health Management (ProQuest) Resource for the study of health administration; includes coverage of hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel, and health economics.

Dates: 1986 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Food, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) Collection of nursing and allied health journals, as well as general interest health and fitness magazines, reference books, and pamphlets.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Food, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Collection of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines; includes 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Dates: 1975 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Food, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
HeinOnline
TRIAL
Comprehensive collection of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals from their first volume of publication; includes four major collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Note: Trial available until 31 December 2014.

Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Law, Political Science
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Comprehensive international index to the scholarly literature on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), from 1450 to the present; includes military history, women's history, world history, and more, and provides abstracts to journal articles published in over forty (40) languages. For coverage of the United States and Canada, see: America: History and Life.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Women's Studies
Home Improvement Collection (Gale) Coverage of 200 home improvement focused publications; covers architectural techniques, holiday and party planning, tool and material selection, and more.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Architecture, Engineering, Family & Consumer Studies, Technology
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (Gale) Coverage of the historical and current state of the hospitality and tourism field; includes 500 industry journals and travel guides.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Family & Consumer Studies
HRAF World Cultures Database name change. See the entry for: eHRAF.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) Coverage of all fields of the humanities such as literary studies, area studies, performing arts and more.

Dates: 1907 - present
Sources:Books, Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Index Master Index to secondary legal titles. Note: First-time users must create a username from a computer on campus.

Sources: Books - Citations, full-text may be available by searching the CUNY catalog
Subjects: American Studies, History, Law, Political Science
Information Science & Library Issues Collection (Gale) Source for periodical articles with a focus on library and information science issues.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Library & Information Studies
Infoshare Online A sophisticated database program that can be used to view and analyze an array of community and regional data from neighborhoods and other local areas of New York City and New York State; includes population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and more, with data from the 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010 census, and other sources.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Economics, Family & Consumer Studies, Health & Medicine, History, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies
InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale) Collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers; includes images, audio and video clips.

Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
IngentaConnect Citations, abstracts, and table of contents for scholarly journals in all subject disciplines; users can register to receive alerts for their selected journals.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Insurance & Liability Collection (Gale) Coverage of labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Business, Economics
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (EBSCO) Coverage of scholarly and trade publications concerned with the performing arts.

Dates: 1907 - present
Sources: Books, Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Dance, Drama, Theatre
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest) Coverage of classical and popular music from international scholarly and trade journals.

Dates: 1874 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Music
International Political Science Abstracts (SAGE) Abstracts of articles published in journals and yearbooks. From search results, user must display PDFs and browse for topic.

Dates 2007 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Jewish Studies, Political Science
International Yearbook and Statesmen's Who's Who Information on countries of the world; includes biographical profiles.

Sources: Biographies, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Political Science
IOPscience (Institute of Physics) Collection of journals from the Institute of Physics.

Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Engineering, Physics
JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association Access to the most widely circulated medical journal in the world; full-text from 1998, with abstracts available for 1883 - 1997.

Dates: 1883 - present
Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Health & Medicine
Journal Citation Reports Resource to evaluate and compare journals using citation data from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals; available in two editions: JCR Science Edition (data from 8,000 journals) and JCR Social Sciences Edition (data from 2,600 journals).

Dates: 2008 - 2012
Sources: Journals - Citations
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Journal on Excellence in College Teaching
NEW
Peer-reviewed journal that offers well-written, timely articles on best practices in pedagogy, student learning and classroom technologies. Useful for anyone who stands before a college audience.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Multidisciplinary
JSTOR Multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals and electronic books (e-books) that include primary sources, images, and more. Note: Some journal coverage does not include the last 1-5 years.

Sources: Books, Journals, Primary Sources - Some full-text
Subjects: Biology, Business, Economics, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Film, Health & Medicine, History, Language & Literature, Multidisciplinary, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Sociology
Kids InfoBits (Gale) Access to reference sources and magazines for students in grades K- 5 featuring a visually graphic interface; includes Merriam-Webster’s Elementary Dictionary. Users can browse or move from a broad to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree.

Sources: Magazines, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Educational technology.
Kids Search (EBSCO) Designed for students in grades K-8, Kids Search includes full-text articles from Primary Search, in addition to information for educators on curriculum standards from sources within ERIC, Professional Collection, and Teacher Reference Center.

Dates: 1988 - present
Sources: Magazines, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology
Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) Collection of curriculum guides, frameworks, and standards, with linked full-text to over 4,000 documents; citations available for content between 1983 – 2000, with many available in microfiche.

Dates: 2001 - present
Subjects: Education
Legal Source (EBSCO) Coverage of legal issues, studies, and trends.

Sources: Books, Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Law, Political Science
LexisNexis Academic Search regional, national, and international newspapers, law, legislation, and court cases; find company profiles and business and industry news.

Sources: Journals, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, Business, Law, Political Science
LGBT Life with Full Text (EBSCO) Coverage of scholarly and popular LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) publications; includes both current and historical sources.

Dates: 1953 - present
Sources: Books, Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: American Studies, Family & Consumer Studies, Gender Studies, Sociology, Women's Studies
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
(ProQuest)
Abstracts of scholarly library and information science articles with emphasis on international publications.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Library & Information Studies
Library & Information Science Source (EBSCO) A major index to the field of librarianship; incorporates information previously published in Wilson's Library Literature and EBSCO's LISTA.

Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Library & Information Studies
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
(ProQuest)
Coverage of international literature in various fields of linguistics (descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics) as well as all aspects of the study of language (phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics).

Dates: 1973 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Arabic, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Greek-Ancient, Hebrew & Yiddish, Language & Literature, Latin, Linguistics
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) Criticism and commentary representative of particular authors or works, written by contemporary and modern scholars; includes:

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Drama Criticism
Literature Criticism 1400-1800
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Shakespeare Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism


Sources: Books, Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Arabic, Classics, Comparative Literature, Drama, English, French, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, Hispanic Languages, History, Italian, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Philosophy, Spanish
Literature Resource Center (Gale) Coverage of secondary literary resources such as overviews, reviews in print and multimedia formats, biographies, and scholarly criticism; includes materials from Literature Criticism Online and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Sources: Audio & Video, Biographies, Journals, Magazines, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Some full-text
Subjects: Arabic, Classics, Comparative Literature, Drama, English, French, German, Greek-Ancient, Greek-Modern, Hebrew & Yiddish, Hispanic Languages, Italian, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Philosophy, Polish, Russian, Slavic Languages, Spanish
LitFinder (Gale) Resource for finding citations to poems, short stories, speeches, and plays; includes selective text and covers all time periods.

Sources: Books, Journals - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Arabic, Classics, Comparative Literature, Drama, Encyclopedias, English, Greek-Ancient, Hispanic Languages, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Spanish
LLMC Digital (Law Library Microform Consortium) Collection of legal titles and government documents.

Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Law, Political Science
MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO) Collection of summaries and overviews of literary works, along with short biographies of major authors; based on Magill's reference books: Masterplots, Critical Surveys.

Dates: 1994 - present
Sources: Biographies - Full-text
Subjects: Arabic, Classics, Comparative Literature, Drama, English, German, Greek-Ancient, Hebrew & Yiddish, Hispanic Languages, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Philosophy, Polish, Russian, Slavic Languages, Spanish
Making of the Modern World (Gale) Digital collection of over 61,000 works of literature on the history of economics, business, and trade from 1450 through 1850; users can also find a helpful chronology, as well as brief, historical essays for issues important to this field.

Dates: 1450 - 1914
Sources: Books, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics, History, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Women's Studies
MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO) Access to more than 700 popular magazines, reference book essays, and primary source documents for young adults, with assigned reading level indicator (Lexiles); for high school libraries.

Sources: Books, Journals, Magazines, Primary Sources - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Education, Multidisciplinary
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database that contains 1,700 periodicals, 500 reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and an image collection of maps & flags; for public libraries.

Sources: Books, Journals, Magazines, Primary Sources - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Education, Multidisciplinary
MathSciNet The most comprehensive resource for the international literature of mathematics and statistics; provides access to a searchable database of reviews, and abstracts and bibliographic information; from the American Mathematical Society.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Mathematics, Physics
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database, contains citations and author abstracts from over 5,600 biomedical journals from fields such as: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. See also: PubMed.

Dates: 1949 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Food, Health & Medicine, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
MEDLINE (PUBMED) Database name change. See the entry for: PubMed.
Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print Access to all nineteen reference yearbooks; includes descriptive summaries of research instruments (questionnaires, surveys, diagnostic tests, attitude scales, standardized tests) used by educators and psychologists to measure human intelligence and aptitude.

Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Psychology
Mergent Online Provides corporate financial histories, including capital changes and operational histories for over 10,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies; it also lists subsidiaries, officers/directors, long-term debt, financial statements, capital stock, and financial statements.

Dates: 1990 - present
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics
Military & Intelligence Database Collection (Gale) Coverage of past and current state of military affairs.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: History, Political Science
MLA International Bibliography (Gale) Index of scholarly literary criticism and other scholarship in the fields of language and literature from all over the world.

Dates: 1926 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Music Index (EBSCO) Coverage of classical, popular, and world music as well as the music industry from international scholarly and trade journals; includes digitized content from 1970 to present.

Dates: 1949 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Music
NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) Catalog to the collections of the National Agricultural Library (U.S. Department of Agriculture); a primary source for world-wide access to agricultural information including animal and veterinary sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, and more.

Dates: 1900 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Citations
Subjects: Biology, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Food, Geography, Nutrition
National Geographic Archive Digital archive of the award-winning magazine; includes every page from every issue.

Dates: 1888 - 1994
Sources: Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
National Newspaper Index (Gale) Cross-search America's top five newspapers for article citations; includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post.

Dates: 1982 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest) Access to 30 major U.S. newspapers; includes the Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and more.

Dates: 1985 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Nature Access to the multidisciplinary weekly journal Nature, as well Nature Research journals and Nature Reviews journals; covers genetics, evolution, biotechnology, and clinical practice & research.

Dates: 1997 - present
Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Health & Medicine, Neuroscience
Naxos Music Library Digital collection of sound recordings of classical music with access to liner notes, libretti, opera synopses, composer and artist biographies, and more; includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues as well as selected titles from other labels.

Note: Access limited to ten (10) simultaneous users.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Music
Naxos Video Library Digital collection of classical music videos with subtitles and librettos; includes performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.

Note: Access limited to five (5) simultaneous users.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working papers in economics from the National Bureau of Economics Research.

Dates: 1994 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text may be available within EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Subjects: Business, Economics, Labor Studies
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) Access to the weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice, such as: clinical medicine, internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Biology, Food, Health & Medicine, Nutrition
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online edition of the eight-volume New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology
New York State Newspapers (Gale) Collection of major New York State newspapers; includes Albany Times Union, Buffalo News, Daily News, New York Post, Newsday, and more.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Multidisciplinary
New York Times (ProQuest) Coverage of The New York Times suitable for research, with abstracts and citations; includes The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine. For enhanced access to back-issues, see: New York Times Historical (ProQuest); and for access to the Digital Edition, see: New York Times Digital Edition.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Multidisciplinary
New York Times Digital Edition Access unlimited current articles from The New York Times website with a registered Academic Pass, courtesy of Queens College Libraries and CUNY.

Note: First-time users must register for an Academic Pass with an active Queens College e-mail address. Click here for instructions and FAQ.

Dates: 1923 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Multidisciplinary
New York Times Historical (ProQuest) Digital collection of The New York Times; includes every page from every issue from 1851 to 2010.

Dates: 1851 - 2010
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Multidisciplinary
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) Database of curated primary source collections from the 19th Century; includes primarily British and American documents, with some resources in non-Western languages.

Sources: Books, Images, Newspapers, Data & Statistics - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Asian Studies, Comparative Literature, English, History, Languages & Literatures, Technology, Women's Studies
NoveList Plus (EBSCO) Readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction.

Sources: Books
Subjects: Education, Library & Information Studies
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) Coverage of the allied health fields, with emphasis on full-text titles cited in CINAHL (EBSCO).

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Communication Sciences & Disorders, Food, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
NYCData Contains information and statistics specific to New York City, organized in eighteen (18) categories; includes business, culture, education, income, housing, sports, and more. Produced by the Weissman Center for International Business at Baruch College

Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Business, Economics, Health & Medicine, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies
Opera in Video Collection of streaming video to opera performances, documentaries on opera, and interviews with performers. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Drama, Music, Theatre
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) Coverage of current event topics, from the facts to arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

Dates: 1992 - present
Sources: Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies
Optics Infobase Collection of optics and photonics research published or co-published by the Optical Society (OSA).

Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Physics, Technology
Oxford Art Online Cross-search the multi-volume Dictionary of Art from Grove, along with the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Users can customize results with advanced search to retrieve dictionary entries, essays, art images, timelines, and thematic guides.

Sources: Images, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Architecture, Art, Media Studies
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Full-text of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED); includes comprehensive definitions, quotations documenting historical uses of words, and etymological notes. Continuously updated.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Language & Literature, Linguistics
Oxford Music Online Access the full-text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Grove Dictionary of American Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Music
Oxford Reference Provides specialized, subject-based encyclopedias; includes thesauri, language dictionaries, and timelines.

Sources: Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Some full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
PalgraveConnect Collection of electronic books (e-books) published by Palgrave Macmillan in the humanities, social sciences, and business.

Dates: 2010 - present
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Dance, Drama, Economics, Education, English, Film, History, Language & Literature, Linguistics, Media Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Theatre
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) Comprehensive bibliographic index to scholarly research in Philosophy; provides author-written abstracts to journal articles and books, with worldwide coverage of research in thirty-seven (37) languages, and extensive indexing of proper names and subject terms.

Dates: 1940 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Asian Studies, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion
Physical Education Index (ProQuest) Coverage of scholarly and trade literature for the study of physical education, sports medicine, dance, kinesiology, motor learning, physical fitness, biomechanics, sport sociology/psychology, health education, and physical therapy; includes some charts, graphs, and images.

Dates: 1970 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Family & Consumer Studies, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection (Gale) Access to over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing access to topics discussed in the field, such as treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and more.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Health & Medicine, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) Electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events; sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Dates: 1871 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Health & Medicine, Neuroscience, Psychology, Sociology
Pivot (ProQuest) Find funding information for a variety of activities, including research, and travel, in all academic disciplines; includes researcher profiles with contact information, publications, patents, and descriptions current research activities and expertise. Note: Queens College users can register for an account to create a personal profile.

Subjects: Education
PLoS (Public Library of Science) Collection of peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals; includes original research as well as timely feature articles.

Dates: 2003 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Health & Medicine
Pop Culture Collection (Gale) Access to over 100 journals and magazines; provides content from: Billboard, Cosmopolitan, Newsweek, and more; includes images.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Media Studies
Popular Magazines (Gale) Collection of the most used magazines from all Gale databases; includes titles recommended from Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Primary Search (EBSCO) Collection of popular magazines for elementary school research; also includes content from almanacs, dictionaries, and encyclopedias, and serves as an online index to children's magazines. All full-text articles include reading level indicators (Lexiles).

Dates: 1988 - present
Sources: Magazines, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology
Professional Collection (Gale) Access to over 300 journals for educators interested in aspects of professional development and classroom techniques.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Education
Project MUSE Collection of scholarly journals and electronic books (e-books), primarily in the humanities and social sciences; from John Hopkins University Press.

Dates: 1995 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
ProQuest Databases Cross-search all ProQuest databases, or select a specific few to search together.

Sources: Books, Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
PsycArticles (EBSCO) Access to 78 scholarly journals from the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations on the field of psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research.

Dates: 1894 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Neuroscience, Psychology, Sociology
PsychiatryOnline Access to books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing; includes DSM-V and the American Journal of Psychiatry, in addition to textbooks, APA practice guidelines, self-assessment and clinical research tools, and medical handouts.

Dates: 1952 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Communication Sciences & Disorders, Health & Medicine, Neuroscience, Psychology, Sociology
Psychology Collection (Gale) Collection of subject-appropriate scholarly and trade journals on the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time; includes full-text for many titles from PsycINFO (EBSCO).

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Psychology
PsycINFO (EBSCO) Comprehensive index of scholarly literature in the field of behavioral sciences and mental health; includes journal articles, book chapters, book essays, and dissertations.

Dates: 1887 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Family & Consumer Studies, Health & Medicine, Jewish Studies, Neuroscience, Psychology, Sociology
PubMed Freely accessible database developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed provides access to:

MEDLINE, a bibliographic database with citations and author abstracts from over 5,600 biomedical journals; PubMed Central (PMC), a digital archive of biomedical journals/manuscripts from participating publishers; and includes links to the integrated molecular biology databases, as well as to chemical information.

Note: Most PubMed records are MEDLINE citations. See also: MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO).

Dates: 1950 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Food, Health & Medicine, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies Bibliography of articles in the field of Jewish studies; based on the collections of the National Library of Israel.

Dates: 1966 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Citations
Subjects: Arabic, Comparative Literature, Greek-Ancient, Hebrew & Yiddish, History, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Latin
RCL Web (Resources for College Libraries) Collection development tool for academic libraries; provides a list of print and electronic resources for various subject areas.

Sources: Books
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Reader's Advisor Online Reader's advisory resource based on print series, Genreflecting.

Sources: Books
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO) Comprehensive general interest database; includes full-text periodicals from 1994 forward. For earlier coverage, see: Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982.

Dates: 1983 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) Citations to the most popular general-interest periodicals that reflect the history of 20th century America; access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments. For contemporary coverage, see: Readers' Guide Full Text Mega.

Dates: 1890 - 1982
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
RefWorks (ProQuest) Tool for citation management that enables you to organize your research.

Note: First-time users must create an account from a computer on campus using the Queens College Libraries' Group Code; ask for it at the Library Research Office, room 344.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) Access to articles from over 75 regional, state, or city business journals; includes Crain's New York Business.

Sources: Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Business, Economics
Religion & Philosophy Collection (Gale) Collection of selected magazines and academic journals in Religion and the religious areas of Philosophy, Archaeology and Anthropology; covers theological approaches to social issues, and the impact of Religion on culture and society.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Philosophy, Religion
Research Library (ProQuest) Provides both scholarly and popular articles to 150 core, academic subject reference areas, with one-stop access to readers and researchers at every level.

Dates: 1971 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) The best single source for exploring the world of music; includes broad international coverage of all categories of music literature in every genre.

Dates: 1967 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Abstracts, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Music
Sage Journals Collection of scholarly journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

Dates: 1879 - present
Sources: Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Health & Medicine, Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies
Scholastic GO! Access to the Encyclopedia Americana, New Book of Knowledge, and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia as well as Roget's II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition.

Sources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education
Science Citation Index Expanded Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to 5,700 journals across 164 scientific disciplines; search by subject, author, and journal title; use a Cited Reference Search to find articles that have cited a previously published work. See also: Web of Science.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geology, Health & Medicine, Nutrition, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences, Physics, Psychology
Science Direct (Elsevier) Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities; access includes Cell Press titles and the book series Methods in Enzymology.

Dates: 1995 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Science Magazine Leading weekly general scientific journal, publishing original research articles, science news, and research reports in all fields of science; includes access to various online resources, including: Science Express, Science Now, Science Signaling, Science Careers, and Science Translational Medicine; published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Dates: 1996 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Some full-text
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geology, Health & Medicine, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics, Psychology
SciFinder Access to comprehensive information from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS); includes patents and technical reports, over 78 million organic and inorganic substances, including structure diagrams, names, and molecular formulas.

Note: Access for Queens College only. First-time users must create a SciFinder username from a computer on campus.

Dates: 1907 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Health & Medicine, Physics
Scribner Writers Online Series (Gale) Collection biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world.

Dates: 1974 - present
Sources: Biographies, Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: American Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, French, Greek-Modern, History, Languages & Literatures, Multidisciplinary , Spanish, Women’s Studies
SearchaSaurus (EBSCO) Designed with the young researcher in mind with an animated interface, this database contains articles from Primary Search, in addition to information for educators on curriculum standards from sources within ERIC and Teacher Reference Center.

Dates: 1988 - present
Sources: Magazines, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Educational Technology
Serials Directory (EBSCO) Bibliographic information about U.S. and international periodicals.

Sources: Journals, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Citations
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale) Digital collection of newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries; includes publications from London, with additional content from other British and International newspapers.

Dates: 1603 - 1800
Sources: Newspapers, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: English, History, Journalism
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale) Collection of historical primary sources that document the slave trade and the history of slavery in the United States and worldwide.

Dates: 1491 - 1896
Sources: Books, Newspapers, Primary Sources - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Economics, History, Law, Political Science, Sociology
Small Business Collection (Gale) Access to hundreds of subject-appropriate periodicals that cover major areas of starting and operating a business.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics
Social Explorer Database program of current and historical demographic data taken from the United States federal census (1790-2010), the American Community Survey (2005-2011), and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2010); interface can be used to create reports, charts, graphs, interactive maps, and slide shows to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.

Dates: 1790 - present
Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: American Studies, Economics, History, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies
Social Sciences Citation Index Available on the Web of Science platform, this database provides citations to 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines; search by subject, author, and journal title; use a Cited Reference Search to find articles that have cited a previously published work. See also: Web of Science.

Dates: 1975 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) Coverage of the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Dates: 1983 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Economics, Geography, History, Labor Studies, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies, Women's Studies
Social Sciences Index Retrospective (EBSCO) Coverage of a wide-range of social sciences and interdisciplinary fields; sources include core, scholarly English-language periodicals as well as a number of lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

Dates: 1907 - 1983
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Economics, Geography, History, Labor Studies, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies, Women's Studies
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) Coverage of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development; provides abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Dates: 1979 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Economics, Family & Consumer Studies, Labor Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies, Women's Studies
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) Broad database for Sociology, its sub-disciplines, and closely related areas of study; provides indexing for scholarly journal articles, books, and conference papers, with searchable cited references. Users can also view select author profiles for bibliographical information and author's areas areas of expertise.

Dates: 1950 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian Studies, Economics, Family & Consumer Studies, Jewish Studies, Labor Studies, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies, Women's Studies
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Comprehensive coverage of international literature in Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, and more, with cited references for most records after 2002. Forty percent (40%) of the content is published outside of North America.

Dates: 1952 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Africana Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Economics, Family & Consumer Studies, Labor Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Urban Studies, Women's Studies
Something About the Author (Gale) Biographical information on children's authors and illustrators; includes critiques.

Dates: 1971 - present
Sources: Biographies, Books, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Education, English, Library & Information Studies
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO) Comprehensive source for research on sports, athletics, and sports medicine.

Dates: 1985 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Health & Medicine, Physical Education & Exercise Sciences
SpringerLink Collection of journals and electronic books (e-books), with a strong emphasis on STM (science, technology, medicine) content.

Dates: 1997 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematics, Physics
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organizations of the United States; users can search or browse to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, or subject.

Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Business, Economics, Political Science, Sociology
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) Provides access to popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Dates: 2000 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Education
Textile Technology Complete (EBSCO) Coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing; contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, conference papers, theses, technical reports and trade literature.

Dates: 1900 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Art, Business, Family & Consumer Studies, Technology, Textiles & Apparel
Theatre in Video Collection of streaming video to definitive performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press.

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Drama, Theatre
Torrossa (Casalini Libri)
NEW
Digital collection of Italian and Spanish electronic books (e-books) in the arts & humanities, and language & literature; content is searchable by title and publisher, and all content can be found in the CUNY catalog.

Dates: 1996 - present
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Arts & Humanities, Italian, Language & Literature, Spanish, Theatre
Twayne's Authors Online (Gale) Digital collection of book-length introductions to selected authors and works; digitized from Twayne's Authors Series.

Dates: 1961 - 2002
Sources: Biographies, Books - Full-text
Subjects: Comparative Literature, Drama, English, German, Greek-Ancient, Hebrew & Yiddish, Hispanic Languages, Language & Literature, Latin, Latin American & Latino Studies, Polish, Russian, Slavic Languages, Spanish
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory (ProQuest) Detailed bibliographic information about U.S. and international periodicals.

Sources: Journals - Citations
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCO) Access to publications covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects:Africana Studies, American Studies, Geography, Sociology, Urban Studies
U.S. History Collection (Gale) Database of leading journals in the field of U.S. history; a useful resource for novice historians as well as for advanced academic researchers.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Books, Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History
VAST: Academic Video Online Digital collection of streaming video that touch on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Each video is fully transcribed and indexed, and users can create & share playlists, video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. See also: Alexander Street Press..

Sources: Audio & Video
Subjects: Arts & Humanities, Film, Media Studies, Multidisciplinary, Social Sciences, Theatre
Vocations and Careers Collection (Gale) Access to over 400 subject-appropriate periodicals; includes career guides and highly specialized industry journals.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text
Subjects: Business
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) Coverage of the Wall Street Journal suitable for research, with abstracts and citations.

Dates: 1984 - present
Sources: Newspapers - Full-text
Subjects: Business, Economics
War and Terrorism Collection (Gale) Access to hundreds of subject-appropriate periodicals for researchers in history, social science, and current events.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: History, Political Science
Web of Science Provides complete bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references to high quality, peer-reviewed journals; includes:

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Dates: 1975 - present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Engineering, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geology, Health & Medicine, Multidisciplinary, Physics, Technology
Wiley Online Library Collection of scholarly journals and electronic books (e-books) published by Wiley-Blackwell in science, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.

Dates: 1996 - present
Sources: Books, Journals - Some full-text
Subjects: Multidisciplinary
Women and Social Movements
Scholars Edition
Digital collection of historical documents that illustrate women's history in the United States between 1600 and 2000; includes letters, speeches, essays, pamphlets, images and more; from Alexander Street Press.

Sources: Books, Images, Primary Sources
Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, History, Labor Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Women's Studies
World Bank Open Data Provides international, social, and economic data for over 750 countries and 18 country groups; includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators from 1960 to present where data are available.

Dates: 1960 - present
Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Business, Economics, Political Science
World History Collection (Gale) Collection of leading journals in the field of world history; a useful resource for novice historians as well as for advanced academic researchers.

Dates: 1980 - present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Subjects: History
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Portal (Gale) Digital collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; combines contemporary and historical full-text documents (back to the colonial period) across the humanities.

Sources: Audio & Video, Images, Journals, Data & Statistics, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Environmental Studies & Sciences, Geography, History, Latin American & Latino Studies, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Technology
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online Citations to materials relating to Shakespeare's works; includes journal articles, books, book chapters, performances, and reviews.

Dates: 1960 - 2014
Sources: Books, Journals, Primary Sources - Abstracts/Citations
Subjects: Comparative Literature, Drama, English, Film, French, Greek-Modern, Italian, Language & Literature, Theatre
WorldCat FirstSearch Searchable online catalog combining thousands of library holdings from around the world. Can help to verify citations, find books on certain subjects, identify subject headings, and where to locate certain books, serials, DVDs, and more.

Sources: Books, Journals - Citations
Subjects: Library & Information Studies, Multidisciplinary
HeinOnline
TRIAL
Comprehensive collection of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals from their first volume of publication; includes four major collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Note: Trial available until 31 December 2014.

Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Law, Political Science
SciELO Citation Index
TRIAL
Abstracts with linked full-text for regional journals in the sciences and social sciences from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Portugal, South Africa, Spain and Venezuela; includes citations to over 4 million Open Access journals; from Thomson Reuters.

Note: Trial available until 31 December 2014.

Subjects: Biology, Engineering, Geology, Hispanic Languages, Latin American & Latino Studies, Sciences, Social Sciences, Spanish, Linguistics, Mathematics, Nutrition, Physics
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
TRIAL
Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organizations of the United States; users can search or browse to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, or subject.

Note: Trial available until 17 September 2014.

Sources: Data & Statistics
Subjects: Business, Economics, Political Science, Sociology
Business Expert Press
NEW
Collection of electronic books (e-books) that focus on topics related to business and management.

Dates: 2001 - 2014
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics
Congress and Nation
(CQ Press)

NEW
The authoritative reference on Congressional trends, actions, and controversies.

Dates: 1965 - 2010
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: American Studies, History, Law, Political Science
FLOW, from RefWorks
NEW
Tool for citation management that enables you to organize your research; users can add full-text documents, collaborate with other CUNY users, and import citations into Microsoft Word.

Note: RefWorks users can import existing citations. See instructions.
Journal on Excellence in College Teaching
NEW
Peer-reviewed journal that offers well-written, timely articles on best practices in pedagogy, student learning and classroom technologies. Useful for anyone who stands before a college audience.

Dates: 1990 - present
Sources: Journals - Full-text
Subjects: Education, Multidisciplinary
Torrossa (Casalini Libri)
NEW
Digital collection of Italian and Spanish electronic books (e-books) in the arts & humanities, and language & literature; content is searchable by title and publisher, and all content can be found in the CUNY catalog.

Dates: 1996 - present
Sources: Books - Full-text
Subjects: Arts & Humanities, Italian, Language & Literature, Spanish, Theatre

top

For more information contact:

Prof. Kelly M. Blanchat
Electronic Resources Librarian

This site conforms to the US Government Section 508 Accessibility Guidelines Valid XHTML Valid CSS